Saturday, December 26, 2009

Mio My Son


Bosse is a boy adopted by parents who don't like children, who discovers one day he is the child of a King and his real name is Mio. A genie brings him to his true home, where he is loved by his father and given the powerful horse, Miramis. Mio learns his fate is to rescue some of the kingdom's children from Kato, a dark knight who has kidnapped them. With his horse and new friend Jum-Jum, he sets out with the love of his father in his heart, the hope of a kingdom, and the power to defeat the evil which threatens the kingdom.

Girl, this story in a very powerful way for me is your heart. I loved Mio and found my feelings for him match some of my love for you. He has a pure heart, an unending loyalty, a determination to do whatever he can for those he loves. I see those same things in you. I had no doubt as to the outcome of the story, however, I trembled at each danger and celebrated with each of Mio's victories. I wanted to take him in my arms and hug him, then bring him home.

I want to do that with you also, and much more.

5 stars

The Forest of Hands and Teeth


Mary is entrapped in a religious order which controls her world, in a romance with a man she doesn't love, and in a village surrounded by zombies. She dreams of leaving the village and finding the sea. Surrounding her is the secrets of her world. There is the secret of why her true love has not come for her, how the Sisterhood is truly related to the world, and the mysterious path which leaves the village. A single scratch can change one from the living to the living dead. Mary is caught in the turmoil of a world which can destroy her in so many ways.

Girl, some books wrap around me within pages, as did this book. The plot seesaws back and forth, leaving one to never know who to trust, who to love, and what Mary should do. Travis intrigued and infuriated me as I puzzled over his relationship with Mary. He seemed to love and hate her, until his true heart revealed itself towards the end. Cass was an enigma also, changing her loyalties midstream. There are so many questions I still have about Gabrielle as she streaked with red along the fence pursuing Mary as passionately as any lover. The book refuses to answer all its questions, as it should. The end wasn't strong for me, but that is often the case of a book which wants to have a sequel.

Mary held my gaze until the end, but not nearly as much as you hold mine.

4 stars

The Minus Man

Vann is a serial killer, who thinks he is innocent. He sees himself as the one who brings peace to those in pain. He abhors violence and strange people. He makes no plans, but acts whenever he believes he receives a sign to kill. He moves into the small community by the sea. He takes a job delivering mail, living with a troubled couple, and beginning a romance with a co-worker. Each person risks becoming his next victim.

The best villain never realizes he is a villain. Girl, this type of guy scares the crap out of me. He walks through life with a weird sense of justice and an aura of innocence which makes him hard to perceive as killer. You want to like him, even though you know from the beginning he is the evil core of the story. You want to tell his victims to run from him and yet there is a power about such a person that makes you curious to know them. The movie contains the best small twists, never going exactly where you would expect it.

4 stars

Monday, December 21, 2009

What Dreams May Come


When Chris dies, he finds himself in heaven, but still very much in love with Annie. When Annie's grief overwhelms her, she commits suicide and is trapped in hell. Despite warnings that she can never be rescued, Chris embarks on a descent into hell to bring her to heaven and will give everything to save her.

Girl, this movie surrounds me always. I've watched it over and over. Visually it overwhelms me. Emotionally, it captures me and even thinking about it, makes me enter into the feelings it brought up inside me. I tried to read the book, but it meant so little and was dry.

I feel about you as Chris did about Annie. He couldn't stop thinking of her or wanting to be with her. I have that same strong connection to you. I sometimes wish my thoughts could touch you, even when you aren't here. I understand how he could not bear to know she was suffering, I struggle when you even have a headache wishing I could take it from you. I seek after you and if we were Chris and Annie, I would give everything to find you. This story makes me want to wrap myself tight around you and never let you go.

5 stars

Right Behind You

Kip hides a terrible secret, growing up he burnt a playmate to death. His life has become a journey now, from town to town, trying to begin a new life, only to move when his secret is found out. He appears to be a great guy, and he is, however, his past taints every relationship when it is discovered. He lands in the town he believes is his last chance. He meets a girl named Sam and just when things are going Kip's way, his secret leaks out.

Babe, this book puzzled me at first. I couldn't figure out the title and what it had to do with anything. What I did find enjoyable was the character's of Kip and Sam. I liked how Kip was human and not the monster his earlier crime made him out to be. Sam was also well developed, making a realistic pastor's daughter. The dance between their characters as they learned about each other and what they both wanted in their lives, made the book engaging. I read it in one sitting. I found myself tracking with Kip's moods and depressed almost at the end as things appeared to be a disappointing ending.

I know what the title means now and I just want you to know, "I'm right behind you."

4 stars

Wednesday, December 16, 2009

The Dark Beyond the Stars


Sparrow awakens after a fall to find himself without a past and in a desperate game to find out what is being hidden from him onboard the inter-generational ship, Astron. As layers of his past are revealed, his relationship with crew members change as his knowledge will decide the balance of power and the destiny of the crew.

Girl, I find you have a way of discovering the sexy side of power. Sparrow draws people to himself, including me, as I was won over to his side in his struggle to regain his true self. I like the setting, the gritty world of the ship, the loyalty of crew which is tested, and the love people begin to give Sparrow.

There are some people who you want to know, Sparrow is a character I'm pulled towards. For me it was never if he won or lost his bid to take the crew where he wanted, but simply the magnetic pull of wanting to be around someone like him and part of what he attempted. The book presents what I like about leadership.

As sure as Sparrow was of his place to lead, I'm that assured of how I love you.

4 stars

Saturday, November 28, 2009

The Forgotten Beasts of Eld


Sybel wields great magic, but chooses to live her life alone on the mountain of Eld. She gathers around her a fantastic set of companions, magical creatures. Her attempt to remain apart from humans is tested, when Coren brings a baby to her to be protected and raised. She loves the child, only years later having to give him up and face the decision whether or not to love Coren, who declares his love for her. Choosing to leave her home and companions to be with Coren, she soon finds herself drawn into a conflict in which she must decide to stand with the man she loves or the child she loves and raised.

Coren's love for Sybel runs deep. Girl, I observed how he seeks to have her and how the two of them begin to yield and entwine their hearts together. Her conflict of love is powerful...a trait many of your books have. Sybel must twist and turn in so many ways, however, she will not yield to any pressure to give up what she loves. Coren has to learn to never doubt her love for him, no matter how things may seem. You've told me never to doubt your heart, in that I hear you speaking through Sybel as I read. And as she reaches out on the last page for his hand, I can feel yours slipping into mine.

4 stars

Monday, November 23, 2009

The Girl In a Swing


Alan is a cermaic dealer and collector, including a valuable piece called, The Girl In A Swing. While on his travels collecting, he mets the beautiful and sensual Kathe. He pursues her and marries her, discovering she has an untold mystery from her past. They honeymoon in Florida where their relationship becomes more sensual and intense. When they return home, Alan's latent psychic abilities begin to warn him of a danger. His world begins to twist into uncertainty as he fights to know and keep Kathe as his own.

I found the start slow, but when Alan meets Kathe the book becomes a slow seduction of the reader. I found myself daydreaming about you as they swam down the river and stopped together on a sandy curve. Kathe is sexy, in her mannerisms, her words, and the mysterious past which surrounds her. I felt the anguish of Alan through the last third of the book and the plot took me places I didn't expect to go.

Girl, I think I'll dream about swimming in a river with you tonight.

4 stars

Little Women


When their father goes off to be a chaplain in the Civil War, four young women and their mother face the trials of war time America and their own internal flaws. The story centers around Jo, an outspoken fifteen year old who has an imaginative mind and gifts as a writer. She spurns a suitor, but later finds her way into the heart of Professor Fritz. Each girl looks for her own way in life and must face the hardship of hearts which love and sharpen one another in the family.

I suppose this is a girl's book, but its been a favorite of mine since junior high. I think at that time I was in love with Jo. Her passion, her interest in books and words, her sophisticated view of romance, despite her tomboy exterior. Amy fascinated me with her art and her touring in Europe, but it was Jo who won my heart when I read it. The strength of the book lies in the relationships of the sisters and their love and devotion to one another. It reminds me some of how you speak of your sister.

You aren't a twin of Jo, but so much of what I loved in her, I find in you.

4 stars

Drop Dead Gorgeous


Set in rural Minnesota, this mockumentary follows the Mount Rose Miss American Teen Pageant. Amber enters with the desire to be able to dance for her mother, while Rebecca wants to win and follow in the footsteps of her mother, Gladys. Gladys is the coordinator of the pageant. Tragedy follows as some contestants are killed or injured in "accidents". Amber is often the target, but manages to elude injury. The movie is an exaggeration of all the attitudes and motivations of both beauty pageant participants and rural America with hilarious outcomes.

I like satire, Girl. This movie continues a good rolling comedy throughout. I found the rivalry between Amber and Rebecca to be my focus. The side characters added so much color...the girl who does sign language...her mother's best friend...her mother, with the beer can melted into her hand. I love how Amber taps in an embalming room, mixing work with practice. The documentary format lended to the satrical nature of the film.

I enjoyed the scene where the girls perform with the step ladders and the paint hasn't dried. Of course, maybe that is because I think from time to time about painting you.

4 stars

Friday, November 20, 2009

The Haunting of Hill House

Hill House is a mansion with no residents. Dr. Montague assembles a team of four hand-picked people to come stay at the house and discover its secrets. A young, single woman, Eleanor, comes with psychic abilities and can sense the feelings and events of the house. While all four characters are terrorized by the house, only Eleanor can experience some events. She dreams of a romance with Luke, heir of Hill House and is tortured by the recent death of her invalid mother. Eventually, Eleanor becomes the target of the house and the team seeks to find a way to untangle her from the talons the living house has in her.

I enjoyed how this book terrorizes. Babe, I've never known a book before where a house was the main character. There is no explanations, no uncovering the mystery, there is just getting to know the house and Eleanor. I liked the interchange between her and Theodora, her infatuation with Luke, and the pull the house has in attracting her despite all of its oddities. The ending seemed abrupt and confusing, however, the rest of the book overshadows this making it worthy of your list.

I found myself with goosebumps when she holds the mysterious hand, the two girls hear the entity in the hall which no one else hears, and the inability of the Doctor's wife to experience any of the supernatural occurences.

I wouldn't mind taking you away for the weekend, but we'll skip Hill House.

4 stars

4 stars

The Haunting (1963)


A team of paranormal investigators moves into Hill House. Centering around the character of Eleanor, a lonely single woman with psychic abilities, the house comes alive. The team of four seek to verify and find explanations for the strange occurrences within the house. However, the house will both elude and pursue them. Based on the book, The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson.

Girl, I hope you can see this movie sometime. I found it captured the frightening aspects of the book and the mental state of Eleanor. However, it changed a few elements which make the book superior. The strength of the movie is its visual and audio impact: the house looks much as the book describes and the soundtrack conveys the terror of the house. The ending has some small differences, though I didn't find it anymore satisfying than the ending of the book.

3 stars

The Blue-Nosed Witch


Blanche, a young witch, with the power of turning her blue nose on and off, is always late. Not wanting to miss the Flight meeting on Halloween, she sets her clock back early not knowing another witch as already done so, making her wake up 3 1/2 hours before she needs. She falls in with a group of trick-or-treaters and and evening of fun ensues.

Your children's books are always fun. This story is one of innocence and the joy of children and stands above a lot of other children's books in how Blanche brings such joy through the telling of her story. I like the simplicity of the black and white illustrations and paused to remember my own halloweens growing up.

3 stars

The Prince of Tides

Tom Wingo is a man who has lost his job, is losing his wife, and now is watching his sister slip into insanity. He travels to the city to speak to the psychiatrist, Susan Lowenstein, who is treating his sister and begins a journey of self-discovery into his past. While falling into a romance with Susan, he recalls his upbringing and how it has set his present course. Set in South Carolina, the story is a rich dialogue of a troubled family and a man who is discovering the underlying passions of his own heart.

Girl, this book drew so many responses and emotions from me as I read. There is Tom, who creates the central study of the story and how his past weaves in and out of his present. There are comedic scenes in the funeral home, the rescue from the water park, and the tragedy which unlocks the secrets of their family. He is a passionate man, who has emotions twisted and formed by so many experiences.

Susan was a good secondary character. In a way, as he finds himself, he accidentally helps her find her own way. Each character has depth. Though for me, Tom was the one who interested me.

I found here a man working through a maze of love in such an obscure fashion. Its again one of those smart pics you make, finding a story which is more than its surface presents.

4 stars

Saturday, November 14, 2009

Companions of the Night


Kerry leaves for the laundromat one night to retrieve a teddy bear and finds herself rescuing Ethan from an eager group of vampire hunters. Her good deed goes awry when as she discovers Ethan is a vampire and the vampire hunters decide she is a vampire as well. In a fast paced story, the vampire mythos is told in a way which is fresh. Ethan and Kerry present a unique dramatic tension with a romantic edge. Their pursuers stay close behind as Kerry must decide how to relate to Ethan and build a trust in the unknown.

Girl, this has to be one of the best vampire books ever written. I've read Twilgiht, which unlike millions of others, I did not care for. I find Vande Velde captures the tension and romance in her short book much better than four volumes of Edward and Bella. I like the dark romance of Ethan and the slow burn of Kerry being able to accept him. The tension in this book is sexy, the characters have chemistry and depth. I love how Ethan watches over her.

I'm always watching over you.

4 stars

Drowned Hopes


Dortmunder has a problem. His old cellmate from prison, Tom, buried some loot behind a library. A reservoir was built over the location and now the money is deep underwater. Tom wants to blow the dam, kill everyone downstream and get his money. However, Dortmnder convinces him they can come up with a better solution and puts together a team who will go to any length to get their share of the cash.

Babe, this has to be the funniest book I've ever read. I laughed at so many places. In fact, I often get this book out and reread a page or two, it keeps calling me back. I enjoyed the church lady who breaks into swearing every time she sees her ex-husband, the computer geek who lives in another reality with his computer, and the witty dialogue between Dortmunder and Tom. The book reads like a movie. I'm disappointed the other Dortmunder books aren't as good. But this one is worth each page of reading. But then again, all your books bring me pleasure.

4 stars

Friday, November 13, 2009

Afternoon of the Elves


Hillary discovers a minature village in the yard of outcast Sara-Kate, beginning an odd friendship between the two girls. Sara-Kate claims the village was built and is maintained by elves. Despite warnings from her mother, Hillary continues to visit Sara-Kate and determine whether or not elves are at work. As she delves in the mystery of her friend, Hillary begins to wonder if there are not in fact real elves, and if Sara-Kate isn't one of them.

This book hovers at first between the mystery of fantasy and real life. I found myself going back and forth with Hillary about the existence of elves. The story speaks of an unusual, but deep friendship, fraught with the oddities of Sara-Kate. I wanted to know the answers myself and found the revelation to be shocking and fascinating at the same time.

Girl, Hillary's devotion to her friend creates a passion in this book. They seemed mismatched and yet their friendship becomes a dependency that holds them together. I wanted to know the answers and each page made me continue to seek.

3 stars

The Adventures of Pinocchio


A craftsman shapes a piece of wood into a table leg, only to find out the wood is alive, so he gives it to a woodcarver who carves it into a boy marionette. Geppetto, the carver, discovers his creation has a sour disposition towards life. The two struggle, resulting in Pinocchio leaving home to find his own way in the world. The marionette's choices lead him into misadventure, eventually being turned into a donkey and slated to be made into a donkey skinned drum. Fate however brings Geppetto and Pinocchio back together. Through Pinocchio's aid to the ailing Geppetto and an unselfish gift to a fairy, he is magically transformed into a real boy.

Girl, this story has been a favorite for as long as I can remember. I once told it to the entire second grade of an elementary school as a sixth grader. The book is darker, creates more tension, and is more brutal than the movie adaptations. But lessons are more vibrant, the relationships more interesting, and the characters more tightly drawn.

I love how you are attracted to stories like this...with strong characterization, fantasy, and a challenge to ethics which is woven into the story.

4 stars

Monday, November 9, 2009

Gods and Monsters


James Whale is past his prime. The once esteemed Hollywood director of Frankenstein and Bride of Frankenstein fame, is now a discarded relic and discredited homosexual, living out his days with his faithful housekeeper, who worries that yet another stroke may kill him. Attracted to his gardener, an aimless, former marine, the two men strike up a platonic friendship in which they discover their family histories, their military experience, and their passions will drive their lives in different directions.

Girl, what I like about this movie was the loyalty of the gardener and housekeeper to James. The gardener can overlook his aversion to James' sexual orientation and appreciate all that he is as a man, while the housekeeper, abhorred at James' lifestyle, sees him also as a person worth her devotion. There is such a question in the movie of what makes a god or monster of a person. It never fully resolves, which I liked. The underlying background of James' friendships in World War I and the impact of those lives upon him, also drove the movie for me. The friendship between the movie draws a fine line of tension, which kept me wanting to watch to the last frame.

3 stars

Saturday, November 7, 2009

A Spell for Chameleon


Bink has broken a sacred law of Xanth, he does not posses a magical power and faces exile. Bink sets out on a quest to discover, what he hopes, is a hidden power within himself. Along the way he meets three women who all intrigue him in different ways, discovering they are one and the same woman, Chameleon. Chameleon has found no man who will endure her different aspects. The two become tangled in plans to overthrow the King of Xanth and Bink must learn if he will ever have a power, how to prevent his exile from being permanent, and if he can truly love Chameleon.

This book is fun, the characters are likeable, and plot meanders in a delightful joy of the characters' self-discoveries. I remember reading and thinking of Bink discovering all the ins and outs of Chameleon, and knowing how much I enjoy learning all the different aspects of you. Bink takes a while to find an attraction to Chameleon. Though unspoken for a time, my love for you came quick and I haven't stopped observing you since.

4 stars

Blubber


When Linda does a school report on whales and mentions blubber, she does not expect the teasing that ensues and the fact that Blubber is now her nickname. Jill and Wendy, best friends, team up in tormenting Linda and making a daily game of it. But when Wendy pretends to befriend Linda in order to make Jill jealous, she does not anticipate how the tables of 5th grade can quickly turn on you.

Girl, you have an attraction to strong ethical tales, told with strong characterization. Blume has a gift for creating ethical dilemmas in real life situations and a gift for capturing real children. The consequences of bullying and how it is carried out are told in realistic fashion, rather than a forced morality tale. I remember kids acting just like this in 5th grade. This is another example of the smart picks you make in children's lit.

3 stars

Thursday, November 5, 2009

The Piano


A young mute woman, with a young daughter, is sold into marriage by her father to a New Zealand Forester. She brings along her piano, which has been her voice and life, only to have her new husband give it away to a neighbor for some land. Her daughter's father was a teacher, whom she claims could hear her speak as she put her thoughts in his head which he feared, so he left her. Since then, she has given her heart to no man, including her new husband. Her love is for her piano. Her neighbor strikes a bargain, she can have the piano back if she will come play for him, one day for every black key, while he "does what he likes". And thus begins the struggle as two men attempt to gain her heart over that of the piano.

Girl, I wish was watching this with you so I could bother you and talk during the movie as things strike me. There is a power in this movie of only letting the piano be her voice. There is subtle sexuality in the music, that reminds me of how I feel about you and the books you read. There is the magic of touch of the smallest place on the skin and the desire to explore.

This is a movie of contrasts between refinement and wildness, silence and noise, function and passion, freewill and control all in hoping to observe and discover the nature of love.

I'm thinking of my fingers over your skin.

4 stars

Wednesday, November 4, 2009

The Hundred Dresses


The girls notice how Wanda wears the same blue dress each day. The other girls make a game teasing her, until she proclaims that she has 100 dresses at home. Maddie joins in the teasing, but then begins to wonder if its wise. When Wanda stops coming to school, Maddie and Peggy begin to learn the real lesson of compassion.

Girl, the ethical slants you discover make this book worth its read. The illustrations are enchanting, done in an almost surrealistic fashion. I could feel with Wanda as the depth of the teasing caused her to withdraw and then the shame of Maddie as she learns the truth. The book is over 60's years old, but still speaks where the heart of many children are today.

It speaks of timeless values...its a voice worth hearing, as I find your voice is to me.

3 stars

The Man In the Iron Mask


The Three Musketeers are nearing the end of their careers and lives. Their young charge d'Artagnan is now a man who influences history. Each man must make tremendous choices if France is to remain great. Among these is the discovery of the King's twin, locked in the Bastille and hidden behind an iron mask. Each musketeer will set the final course of their life in determining the fate of a prince, the loyalty to an empire, and and a quartet of friendships which will be tested in every way.

This remains a favorite story of mine. Girl, I love how we have come to some of these on our own and I realize how much parts of your heart were bound in mine before I ever knew you. This story, for me, is about loyalty and power. I'm caught up in how men follow one another and the reasons and methods by which they do so. I've noticed how much things French capture you. There is a mystique and romance to this book which comes from the culture there. The book is heart breaking in the fates of each person, but also wonderful in how each loves the other.

4 stars

The Magic Chalk


Mrs. Monsen, the witch, loses her magical chalk, then walks right out of the story. John finds the chalk and begins a series of adventures with his created chalk friend Sofus. Facing great dangers, such as water (which can melt Sofus), the two boys meet and explore a world of imagination, only to realize they wish simply to both be at home with a mother.

You find such jewels. This book is forgotten, often copied, the original outshines all others. I searched hard to find a good copy and was not disappointed. Girl, I loved the ins and out of this book, how the type was set to help tell the story, how the story tells the real love of friendship between two boys, and the unlimitless imagination of stick figures and chalk.

I like the pitch black page, the disappearing witch, the uneven words, and the simple love of a mother who makes all things right in the end.

You find the simplest of things which fascinate me.

3 stars

Friday, October 30, 2009

Clerks

Despite having a day off, Dante ends up working a few hours for an employee who is sick.  A girlfriend and a variety of customers bring a broad range of characters into his day.  His day is complicated by learning his former girlfriend is about to get married and he realizes he is still in love with her.  A rooftop hockey game and a pair of shoplifting stoners weave in and out of his workday which stretches into the entire day.  His former girlfriend comes into the story and they reconcile, only to have her find a surprise in the bathroom which ruins their chances, after which the store is closed once again.

Girl, this is a stream of consciousness movie.  The randomness of the plot and the odd humor make such a tapestry of divergent thoughts, it threw me off in a good way,making me just roll with the flow of the film.  I felt like a voyeur at times, though I liked the feeling.  I liked the hockey game...I confess to hanging on top of business roofs in my junior high days.  I like to observe and this movie gave me lots of observation time.

Of course, I most enjoy observing you.  

4 stars

Thursday, October 29, 2009

12 Monkeys


A man lives in an apocalyptic future, in which humanity has been devestated by a virus and now must live underground. He is sent back to the past in order to find information which may stop the plague and restore a better future. He is considered insane and begins a quest with a psychiatrist, who slowly begins to believe his story. They discover he is responsible for setting off a chain of events in which a scientific researcher's insane son decides to unleash the virus and destroy the modern world.

Girl, I love the twists and turns of this film. Brad Pitt plays a brilliant insane man and Bruce Willis does tremendous playing a man who must decide what is real and what is insanity in his own mind.

I noticed near the end, they see the movie Vertigo playing on a screen, the doctor mimics the behavior of Vertigo's lady lead, and the other movie's theme plays in the back as they embrace. Vertigo is one of my favorite movies.

I like how they found each other in such an unlikely way. She wants to know him. It reminds me of how you found me and asked to know me.

4 stars

Wednesday, October 28, 2009

The Miracle Worker


As a baby, a fever robs Helen Keller of bought her sight and hearing. Pampered by her parents, she grows up to be an uncontrollable, spoiled 7 year old with little understanding of the world around her. A teacher, 20 year old Annie Sullivan, arrives with the goal to unlock the world to the young girl, trapped in the shell of her own body.

This story is one of the most amazing true stories I've ever known. I remember as a boy closing my eyes at dinner and trying to imagine what Helen's world must have been like. Girl, this movie contains a powerful emotion of what being trapped from the real world and learning how to be set free. Annie's dedication is amazing and one of the strongest expressions of love I've ever seen.

I read Helen's biography and the movie captures it so well. Annie and Helen were bound together for the rest of their lives. I want to always need you as much as you need me.

4 stars

A Long, Fatal Love Chase

Before she wrote Little Women, Louisa May Alcott wrote an amazingly modern novel, no one would publish. Rosamond falls under the spell of Tempest. A rapid courtship, leads to a quick marriage. A year goes by swiftly, as each grows more passionate, until Rosamond discovers Tempest has a marriage and child he has never disclosed. Rosamond flees, to be pursued by the all consumed Tempest. For two years, he will follow, never giving up his pursuit.

This is one of my favorite books of all, in my top five. Tempest would not give Rosamond up. The priest did, which made me disdain him. He understood the value of her and knew he wanted her. He clung to her with his whole being. I'm not Tempest, but I understand him and the power of his wants, the depth of his connection to her. It embodies much of how I feel about you. I pursue you as I can...you are never out of my view.

I always want to possess you.

5 stars

Thing-Thing


An ungrateful child receives a toy and promptly throws the unwanted thing out the window of a six story building. Watching each story of the building go by, the "thing" and those inside provide a unique and wonderful view of life in this sweet children's book.

Girl, you have the most beautiful heart. This book shows that in how you are drawn to this simple story. I like how Thing-Thing is so calm and thoughtful as the fall occurs. In the end, every dream the creature has comes true. And I don't wonder that I can't keep this book out of the hands of a children.

I read this and I remember how good you are with children.

3 stars

Sunday, October 25, 2009

Ladyhawke


The Captain of the Guard falls in love with a young noble woman. Their love is forbidden due to their stations in life. A drunken priest betrays them to the Bishop, who secretly loves her. The Bishop turns to the dark arts, cursing them as the Captain and lady flee together. By day she is a hawk, while by night he is a wolf. Only in the brief transitions between night and day can they see one another, but they never have enough time to touch. The repentant priest and young pickpocket join them, attempting to break the curse.

This movie has been a favorite of mine for a long time, with only one criticism. The music sucks. But the actors and the story they tell entrance me. There is such a sexy quality to the woman and how she almost mystically moves through the movie. The chemistry between the lady and Captain are held in a perfect tension to the movie's conclusion.

Girl, its how much they love each other which makes this movie and their willingness to push on despite what seems an impossible obstacle.

4 stars

Saturday, October 24, 2009

London


Syd wakes up to a phone call telling him his ex-girlfriend, London, is moving away with her new boyfriend. Syd crashes her going away party, hiding out in the bathroom, drinking, doing coke, and thinking through the path of their relationship while discussing romance and philosophy with everyone who steps in the room. Finally, he gets the courage to speak to her and attempts to repair a relationship which is beyond hope.

Girl, this film weaves in and out of so many topics and moves in so many ways through romance, philosophy, theology, all the while flirting with love. Sid can't give her up and yet in the end, she walks so cleanly away from him. I found Sid interesting, how much he wanted her, how his life wove around her. He didn't get London's reluctance to keep him, I had the same struggle.

This movie interests me. I've watched it twice and see new things each time. You are so sexy smart. It's why I can never take my gaze off of you.

4 stars

The Hollow Kingdom


Cousins Kate and Emily move to an estate, Hallow Hill. Kate becomes the object of affection of the Goblin King, who uses the kidnapping of Emily by the King's cousin to take Kate's hand in marriage. The marriage brings a calmness to the life of the girls, until a goblin is kidnapped and Kate must use the King's Wife charm in hopes of making her new life right again.

Alright, Babe, there is a bit of sexiness in the intelligence of the Goblin King and his pursuit of Kate. I like how he watches her, guards her, and even though she is repelled by him at first, he continues to move around her until he possesses her. I like how he has his own way of adoring her and she completely adopts his way of life.

I'm sorry the sequel didn't live up to the first book.

3 stars

Hellraiser


A man makes the pursuit of pleasure his ultimate quest, finding a box which opens a portal to 3 creatures who show him the heightening of pleasure with pain. However, this pursuit costs him everything. When his brother revives him by accident, he must elicit the aid of a former lover to provide him with the blood which is necessary to regain his former life.

Babe, I like this movie, but you must have watched it on TV. I cannot imagine you sitting through some of the graphic scenes in this movie (I would have been covering your eyes). This feature is a an odd mixture of horror and sensuality, but overall shows the uses of control and power. The uncle believes he is in control, only to lose everything at first, and once he regains control over his life, he discovers his niece can defeat the creatures that come to enslave and destroy him again. The story shows how some control is fleeting, but also, one should never underestimate the power that is held over them.

I've never been able to look at a hook and piece of chain the same way since I first saw this movie.

3 stars

Thursday, October 22, 2009

Letters From the Park


A young man hires a poet to write letters to the girl he loves. Smitten by his letters, the poet writes more, finding himself falling in love with the girl, but keeping his romance a secret. A Cuban setting for the story of Cyrano De Bergerac.

Girl, how is it you find these gems of movies...this one is a gentle kiss. The poet is the one I found myself examining. His letters caress, while his gentle spirit keeps trying to help the couple find one other as he denies what he really feels. My favorite part is when he decides he won't leave his task, following her wherever this path takes him. I wanted them to find one another and wasn't disappointed.

Forget the dirigibles...I want you.

3 stars

Wednesday, October 21, 2009

Mama, There's A Man In Your Bed



Romauld, an executive finds himself without work in the cooperate world as intrigue swirls around him and he is blind to designs of others for his wife and job. Juliette, the office cleaning lady, is a single mom of 5 children, with an ear for office politics and begins to help Romauld weave his way back into his position and get revenge on those who stole his life away. The more they know one another, the more they begin to fall in love.

You find the sweetest movies, Girl. This light comedy made me smile. Juliette is practical, smart, and juggles so much. I like the odd pairing with Romauld and how their worlds collide and mingle together. Romauld sees in her more than she can see herself, while Juliette show how loyalty and family can confront the most difficult situations.

I'd hire Juliette for you if I could, then you wouldn't have to clean anymore.

3 stars

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

Tango


A director who has a passionate interest in the tango, begins to construct a film. He falls in love with the lead dancer, whose boyfriend is a gangster. An affair comes about in their relationship as art and life imitate in the movie. The film investors becoming uncomfortable with the movie's dance scenes depicting times of unrest in Argentina mirrors as the affair brings the two lovers into the tension of Argentina's underworld.

You have such an eye for what is visually stunning. I see it in your movies and the pictures you sometimes find for a blog. I admire how this film "looks". The people, backdrops, costumes, and dance are all sensual. The dancing is hypnotizing. The music quietly surrounds you.

This movie works in layers. The romance, the sounds, the feel, and the touch of vision. I could watch it, never hearing a word of dialogue, which is true of a few of your films. You always have me on a journey where I want to drink in everything you show me.

Let's learn to tango.

4 stars

Queen of Hearts


A man sweeps away his bride from a butcher's son, where they move to England and raise their family. Through the advice of a magical pig, the dad becomes a man of means and buys a cafe. His life moves along well, until the butcher's son returns for revenge and he forgets the magical advice he once received, losing everything which is dear to him through a gamble. His youngest son shows him there is more than games of chance, there is the heart, which in the end trumps everything.

Girl, this is a sweet movie. It shows the simplicity of love over the complexities of revenge and the power of a young boy's heart to never give up on those he cares for. When I watch a tender movie like this I see something of your heart: how you are there for those you love and the depth of how you feel. This makes you more precious than everything I adored in this movie.

4 stars

Friday, October 16, 2009

Summer Lovers


Two Americans, choose to summer on a Greek Island. They meet Lena, who draws the interest first of Michael and then Cathy. Cathy is looking for more adventure in their romance and after some struggle, the three begin a relationship together which tests their boundaries and ideas of love.

Extremely sexy.

Girl, you have such a interest in the philosophy of love. Not in some cold, dry thinking way, but in a challenging heart felt way which turns in me every time I encounter it. I found Lena interesting, trying to figure her out, how she draws into their circle, how each learns to the love and accept the other.

They had a genuine love and when Lena tries to leave it behind, she discovers what she has lost.

I'm always trying to figure out how to wrap around you tighter.

4 stars

Tuesday, October 13, 2009

Rebecca


A young woman mets handsome widower Mr. DeWinter, and marries him, coming to his estate and becoming the second Mrs. DeWinter. However, the specter of his first wife Rebecca fills the home. Never given her own name, she tells her story and romance as she seeks to untangle herself from the first wife, Rebecca's, legacy and fully belong to her husband. This gothic tale shimmers between fear and romance as the mystery behind Rebecca's life unfolds.

I enjoy knowing I found this book for you, knowing you find books worth reading more often than I do. Despite its slow start, I enjoyed the building tension in both the mystery and the feel of ghost tale where there is no ghost.

Babe, I found their relationship a study in devotion as she wondered if Rebecca had a hold on him from the grave and he resolutely insisted his love was for her and not Rebecca. I liked the main character a lot. Maybe it shouldn't, but to this day it bothers me she didn't have a name. Though perhaps that is part of the allure of the book and a lingering mystery surrounding the romance.

5 stars

Saturday, October 10, 2009

Minority Report


In 2054, the police in Washington, D.C. have defeated murder through their Precrime Unit which uses "precogs" who can predict a murder before it happens. The top cop of the unit, who lost a son to a crime, finds himself implicated and on the run for the future murder of a man he never met.

This movie interested me every step of the way. It had the one layer of dealing with the deep issues of freewill and predestination, while also telling the story of a dad who loved his son.

Girl, I followed the main character with interest and found his attention to detail appealing. I liked how things kept twisting through the story and it unfolded in ways which were unexpected.

I liked the idea of peering into other people's lives, because I'm always wanting to peer around the corner and see what you are doing.

4 stars

Farewell My Concubine

Two boys grow up in Warlord China and become inseparable while studying to be actors in Opera. Their story spans 50 years of Chinese history in a tale of love which tangles as one man marries and the culture around them spins out of control. As culture changes, their relationship changes and the ties of friendship and loyalty are twisted and tested.

Girl, this movie has so much. I don't know how you find movies like this. It is visually fills the screen and if I could not have understood a word, I would have watched anyway. The dynamics of the three characters weaved a tapestry of beauty and tension which kept the film as an emotional experience. It was painful to see their love betrayed in the end and the touches of the opera lived to the conclusion in two of their lives.

Gong Li is so good. Her movements, emotions, the way her character ties and frames the movie were so incredible. She was the living opera of the film.

On a lesser level, I enjoyed getting to know Chinese opera and history of how China impacted the times. But most of all I felt pulled and pushed by the Concubine and Courtesan, they made the movie for me.

I so want to paint your face now.

5 stars

Thursday, October 8, 2009

The Corporation


The largest entity of our time is the Corporation. It is not a person, holds special legal status as a person, and has tremendous say over our lives. This documentary explores the tentacles of power and the Orwellian implications of a legal personage no one can see or touch.

You know babe, this film changed a lot of how I look at the world. From the small (what milk I drink) to the large (my thoughts on consumerism), this film touches where I live. I've grown more distrustful of large corporations and the past year and its impact on the economy bears out the conclusion of the psychopathic nature of corporations.

I just rewatched this. It shows me how much you grapple with big ideas at times and figure out what they mean for your daily walk. Frankly, it scared the crap out of me in places realizing how uncontrolled some power is, but I'm glad you made me wiser.

My only criticism: the music at times annoyed me.

3 stars

The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert


Three drag queens, joined by a mechanic, board a bus they dub "Priscilla, Queen of the Desert" and travel through the Australian outback on the way to a show. Along the way they experience the attitudes and sometimes disdain of those who watch them perform. Each one confronts his own sexuality, with different choices as they bond together and face the reality of their individuality and friendships. Amazing musical numbers and costuming.

Babe, you have a way of finding these clever stories which are more than they appear on the surface. The movie had a fascinating dynamic between the three main characters. Its exploration of people's attitudes and even the tenderness of finding the Hugo Weaving character is married and has a son. In a sense, they had more love and commitment than most of the people they met.

I couldn't imagine Weaving in this role, but he was amazing. Stamp always plays the tough bad guy, but played his role to perfection. Pearce, he was funny as the third wheel. The musical numbers were fun. I laughed and smiled thinking of you watching this.

Oh, I didn't imagine you wearing any of these outfits.

The musical, based on the film, is about to hit Broadway in 2011.

4 stars

Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Citizen Ruth


Ruth Stoops is homeless, broke, and pregnant. When she isn't huffing vapors for a high, she's trying to figure out how to survive. When a judge tries to force her into having an abortion, she becomes the pawn of both pro-life and pro-choice forces who each want to make her a symbol for their cause.

This film sums up my feelings about politics. As you know, babe, I'm somewhat cynical about the political process. Is it scary that I feel like I know all the people in this movie on both sides of equation? I hate how for the sake of a cause, people get shoved aside and as in the movie, in the end are totally unrecognized by the people who are trying to protect their rights.

I get angry when so often politics pretends to be about people, while it tramples right over them. This isn't a film about abortion, its a film about the sadness of how people in our culture stop having a heart for people. Ruth has her problems, but when will someone care about her?

Three cheers for Ruth.

3 stars

Monday, October 5, 2009

Tuck Everlasting


When Winnie Foster goes into the forest, she has no idea she will met the Tuck family and be challenged with receiving the gift of eternal life. The Tuck's cannot die. Winnie becomes close to Jesse Tuck and must decide if being immortal is a choice which can really bring happiness.

Some stories are like a mist, in which you get a glimpse into another world close to our own. I found this story haunting and the dilemma of immortality intriguing. I enjoyed the interplay between Winnie and Jesse along with the tension of the man who pursues the Tuck's secret.

I cared about many characters in this book and was both warmed and saddened by the ending.

It makes me want to take you far into the forest and just spend time with you.

4 stars

By the Great Horn Spoon

Jack Flagg sets out for the California Gold Rush, in order to find his fortune and help his Aunt Arabella. Followed by her butler, he stows away on a ship and makes way to California. There Jack finds gold prospecting much more difficult than he imagined, but with the help of the butler, he learns the value of loyalty, honor, and how even love brings the greatest rewards.

Babe, I got this book and began to read and surprised to discover this was a book I had been looking for. I read it under the title of Bullwhip Griffith in sixth grade. I was one of my favorite books growing up and I've never been able to find it since.

I find the same joy rereading it now. I like the humor, the adventure, the detail to real history, and how the butler changes over time. I remember seeing the whole world through Jack's eyes when I first read this. I've been in mining camps since and loved how the book captured their feeling. This story made me love the time I spent reading and was one I found myself dropped into another world I could completely feel and see as a boy.

4 stars

Before I Die

Tessa is dying. However, before she dies, she wants to know what it is to live. She writes down her list and begins to pursue life. However, life has a way of turning in unexpected directions. Tessa is determined to follow these paths in the time she has left.

Girl, I thought perhaps this book would be sad, but at the same time it began in a way that made me wonder if there wasn't a bit of magic in the book. The writing is good. The story moves nicely. But it reminds me too much of friends and I couldn't enjoy it. I found myself more shrouded in sadness as I read, so I set it aside.

2 stars

Sunday, October 4, 2009

Heavenly Creatures


In 1950's New Zealand, two young teen girls becoming close friends. As their friendship deepens, they create a fantasy realm called the Fourth World. Concerned with the girls intense relationship and other family issues, their parents attempt to divide them, while the girls struggle to remain together. Soon they devise a plan to always be together which includes murder.

Here I thought I found something new to give to you, to find that you had already seen and loved this movie. Though it made me happy to know we are drawn to the same thing.

Pauline and Juliet's ferocious devotion to one another made this movie a fascinating watch, along with their creative interests and mutual ability to enter into a fantasy realm. I could not help wonder if their own parents irresponsible behaviors and lack of true interest in the girls' thoughts contributed to their wrongly devised plans to murder to achieve their goals.

The fantasy sequences were beautifully done. The movie was almost a Disney dream which became a nightmare and I could not stop watching.

4 stars

Saturday, October 3, 2009

And Now Miguel


Miguel Chavez has one wish, to spend the summer in the mountains with his father and brothers tending the family sheep. At 12 years old, he is told he must wait and continue to learn as much as he can about the family business at their time at home. He prays that this summer he might hear those words..."and now Miguel". He works hard, however, this often results in disaster rather than impressing his father. Miguel ponders if his chance to go to the mountains will ever come.

Girl, this is the most innocent and endearing book I've read. Miguel captures your heart within pages and keeps it as you feel his longing and desire to simply be a shepherd. On another level, the whole art of sheep tending is fascinating and mixed with the humor of Miguel's adventures.

For me, the emotion is all culminated in the carving of names in a tree at the end. His love for his brother makes his character complete and real.

This book is like a warm cookie.

5 stars